• Home
  • News
  • Call for Submissions: Arline Custer Memorial Award (Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference)

Call for Submissions: Arline Custer Memorial Award (Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference)

14 Jun 2022 3:00 PM | Daniela Sheinin (Administrator)

The Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference is accepting submissions for the Arline Custer Memorial Award! 

DEADLINE: July 31, 2022

The Arline Custer Memorial Award is presented by the MARAC Arline Custer Memorial Award Committee. This award honors the memory of Arline Custer (1909-1975), MARAC member and editor of the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections.


The Arline Custer Memorial Award recognizes the best books and articles written or compiled by individuals and institutions in the MARAC region – the District of Columbia, Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia.

Works under consideration include, but are not limited to: monographs, popular narratives, reference works and exhibition catalogs using archival sources.

Individuals or institutions may submit up to two works published between July 1, 2021 and June 30, 2022.


Works must be relevant to the general public as well as the archival community. They also should be original and well researched using available sources. In addition, they should be clearly presented, well written and organized. Visual materials, if used, should be appropriate to the text.

Preference will be given to works by archivists.


Up to three awards may be given, with a maximum value of $200.00 for books and $100.00 for articles. The 2022 award(s) may be announced at a fall 2022 MARAC business meeting or shared with MARAC members via another means.

For submission instructions, additional information about this award and a list of previous award winners, see the Arline Custer Memorial Award site: http://www.marac.info/arline-custer-memorial-award. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software