• Home
  • News
  • CFA: SACRPH Awards Competition 2017

CFA: SACRPH Awards Competition 2017

16 May 2017 10:12 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

The Society for American City & Regional Planning History (SACRPH), an interdisciplinary society of scholars and planning practitioners, announces its biennial awards competition. The awards will be presented at SACRPH’s 17th National Conference on Planning History, to be held in Cleveland, Ohio, October 26-29, 2017. For more information, see http://www.sacrph.org/awards.

Deadline to apply for Publication Prizes and Teaching Award: August 1, 2017

Deadline to apply for Conference Paper Prize and Student Travel Awards, August 15, 2017


(For work published between August 2015 and July 2017)

Lewis Mumford Prize ($250)

Best book on American city and regional planning history. Please send or direct your publisher to send three copies to the following addresses:

            Robert Fishman, Chair

            Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning

            2000 Bonisteel Blvd.

            Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2069

            Brent D. Ryan

            Department of Urban Studies and Planning, MIT

            Room 10-485, 77 Massachusetts Avenue

            Cambridge MA 02139.

            Lily Geismer

            5180 High Crest Avenue

            Los Angeles, CA. 90041

Catherine Bauer Wurster Prize ($250)

Best scholarly article on American city and regional planning history in any journal. Please send a PDF of your published article to Matthew Lasner:  mlasner@hunter.cuny.edu.

            Matthew Lasner, Chair

            Hunter College, CUNY

            Anthony Raynsford

            San Jose State University

            Aaron Shkuda

            Princeton University

John Reps Prize ($250)

Best master’s thesis and best doctoral dissertation in American city and regional planning history. Please submit one copy of your manuscript to each of the addresses below:

            Greg Hise, Chair

            972 S. Orange Grove Blvd., Unit D

            Pasadena, CA 91105

            David Sloane

            Ralph and Goldy Lewis Hall 313

            Los Angeles, CA 90089-0626

            June Williamson

            39 Claremont Ave #103

            New York, NY 10027

Journal of Planning History Prize ($100)

Best article published in the Journal of Planning History. Authors do not need to submit copies. All articles published between August 2015 and May 2017 (inclusive) will be considered.

            Eric Sandweiss, Chair

            Indiana University

            Elizabeth Macdonald

            University of California Berkeley

            Renia Ehrenfreucht

            University of New Mexico


(for papers accepted for presentation at the 17th National Conference on Planning History, Cleveland, Ohio, October 26-29, 2017)

Student Paper Prize ($100)

Best conference paper submitted by a full-time student. For consideration, students should send their paper as a PDF to Kristin Larsen: Klarsen@ufl.edu.

            Kristin Larsen, Chair

            University of Florida

            Mariana Mogilevich

            Oculus, NYAIA

            Brian Goldstein

            Swarthmore College


Lawrence Gerckens Prize ($250)

Awarded to a scholar-teacher who has demonstrated sustained teaching excellence and educational leadership in the field of planning history. Teaching excellence refers to the nominees influence in the classroom. Educational leadership involves, among other things, curriculum development, colleague and student mentoring, and pedagogical publishing.

Letters of nomination should be sent electronically to Domenic Vitiello:



            Domenic Vitiello, Chair

            University of Pennsylvania

            Mary Ryan

            Emeritus, Johns Hopkins University

            Lawrence Vale

            Massachusetts Institute of Technology

            Richard Longstreth

            George Washington University

4. Student Travel Awards (up to $250 each)

The Robert S. Birch Endowment supports the activities of students within SACRPH and helps fund travel to the conference for students whose proposals have been accepted by the program committee. Individual grants will not exceed $250. Students presenting papers should send an electronic copy to Sara Stevens: sstevens@sala.ubc.ca.

            Sara Stevens, Chair

            University of British Columbia

            David Smiley

            Columbia University

            Jennifer Hock

            Maryland Institute College of Art

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software