• Home
  • News
  • CFA: MARAC Arlene Custer Memorial Award

CFA: MARAC Arlene Custer Memorial Award

30 May 2017 2:30 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference (MARAC) Arline Custer Memorial Award: Call for Entries

Deadline: July 31, 2017

Presented by the MARAC Arline Custer Memorial Award Committee, this award honors the memory of Arline Custer (1909-1975), MARAC member and editor of the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections.


The Custer Award recognizes the best books and articles written or compiled by individuals and institutions in the MARAC region: the District of Columbia, Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Works under consideration include, but are not limited to, monographs, popular narratives, reference works, and exhibition catalogs using archival sources.  The committee accepts electronic copies of articles and books but requests print copies for consistency and ease of distribution and review.

Individuals or institutions may submit up to two works published between July 1, 2016 and June 30, 2017.


Works must be relevant to the general public as well as the archival community.  They should be original and well-researched.  In addition, they should be clearly presented, well-written, and organized.  Visual materials, if present, should be appropriate to the text.

Preference will be given to works by archivists.


Up to two awards may be given, with a maximum value of $200.00 for books and $100.00 for articles.  The 2017 awards will be announced at the Fall 2017 MARAC meeting in Buffalo, New York.

 How to submit an entry

Please send two copies of each submission with a letter of nomination to the Senior Co-Chair of the Arline Custer Memorial Award Committee:

Elizabeth Surles
Institute of Jazz Studies, Dana Library
Rutgers University—Newark
185 University Ave.
Newark, NJ 07102



Entries must be postmarked (and preferably received) by July 31, 2017.

For additional information and list of previous award winners, please see: https://marac.memberclicks.net/arline-custer-memorial-award

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software